Marshall Gerstein & Borun

Global

Head Office Address:
233 S. Wacker Drive
6300 Willis Tower
Chicago
United States (National)
IL, 60606

+1 (312) 474 6300









Marshall Gerstein is dedicated exclusively to the practice of intellectual property law, helping clients achieve their IP goals in more than 150 countries on six continents. The Firm assists clients in all phases of the IP life cycle, including securing rights, conducting transactions, and litigating and resolving disputes. Our centralized location and singular focus enhance efficiency, responsiveness, and decision making while reducing costs.

We are proud to serve as strategic advisors to leading global innovators, Fortune 500 and small to midsize companies, universities and research institutions, and start-ups across a wide range of industries. Our diverse experiences provide us with a 360-degree perspective and insights that we leverage to benefit our clients, and to foster enduring relationships that often last for decades.

Marshall Gerstein's professionals have considerable collective experience in patent prosecution, IP litigation, IP transactions, trademarks, copyrights and strategy.

  • Nearly 90 percent of the firm's attorneys and patent agents are admitted to practice before the US Patent and Trademark Office.
  • Nearly 90 percent of the firm's attorneys have science or engineering degrees.
  • Nearly 50 percent of the firm's agents and technical specialists have a Ph.D. or other advanced technical degree.

The Firm represents clients in a multitude of industries and technical disciplines, including aerospace, agriculture, automotive, biotechnology and life sciences, chemistry and chemical engineering, cleantech and renewable energy, consumer goods, e-commerce, electrical and software engineering, entertainment, food and beverage, furniture and home furnishings, healthcare, higher education, hospitality, insurance, manufacturing, material science, mechanical engineering, media, medical devices, nanotechnology, non-profit technology transfer, pharmaceuticals, publishing, and retail.

Marshall Gerstein ranks among the "World's Leading Intellectual Property Practices" for patents, biotechnology, and trademarks according to Managing IP's World IP Stars Survey (2010-2017). Chambers & Partners has ranked the firm as "first-rate for litigation" (2009), and "one of the best biotechnology practices in the entire country" (2008). Marshall Gerstein was named "Patent Prosecution Firm of the Year – Midwest," Managing Intellectual Property North America Awards (2014), recognized as "Patent Strategy and Management: Team of the Year," LMG Life Sciences Awards (2013), and selected as "Biotechnology Law Firm of the Year" in the Lawyer Monthly Legal Awards (2013-2015).

Sector Expertise:
  • Aerospace & Defence
  • Automotive
  • Construction & Materials
  • Engineering
  • Electronics & Semiconductors
  • Entertainment
  • Publishing & Media
  • Fashion & Luxury Goods
  • Financial Services
  • Green Technology
  • ICT & Software
  • Life Sciences & Chemistry
  • Manufacturing
  • Medical Devices
  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Robotics & Nanotechnology
  • Telecommunication
  • Universities & Research

Marshall Gerstein's 2018 IP Stars:

Gregory J. Chinlund

Trademarks & Copyrights

312.474.6650

gchinlund@marshallip.com

Pamela L. Cox

IP Transactions

312.423.3451

pcox@marshallip.com

   

Thomas L. Duston

IP Litigation

312.423.3446

tduston@marshallip.com

Kevin M. Flowers, Ph.D.

IP Litigation

312.474.6615

kflowers@marshallip.com

   

Robert M. Gerstein

IP Transactions

312.474.6601

rgerstein@marshallip.com

Julianne M. Hartzell

IP Litigation

312.474.6625

jhartzell@marshallip.com

   

Heather R. Kissling

Patent Prosecution

312.474.6638

hkissling@marshallip.com

Jeremy R. Kriegel

Patent Prosecution

312.474.9561

jkriegel@marshallip.com

   

John R. Labbé

IP Litigation

312.474.9579

jlabbe@marshallip.com

Michael Muczynski

Patent Prosecution

312.474.9576

mmuczynski@marshallip.com

   

Katherine L. Neville, Ph.D.

Patent Prosecution

312.474.6633

kneville@marshallip.com

Sandip H. Patel

Patent Prosecution

312.474.9562

spatel@marshallip.com

   

Randall G. Rueth

Patent Prosecution

312.474.6602

rrueth@marshallip.com

Jeffrey S. Sharp

Patent Prosecution

312.474.9578

jsharp@marshallip.com








Last updated 10th May 2018